Throwback – Chiddy Bang – The Swelly Express

In order to understand where all of this crazyness I got for Chiddy Bang comes from there needs to be some context. I had just started moving from a love of acoustic/indie music to hip-hop and one of the first songs I heard was the Opposite of Adults track that everyone got their introduction with. I didn’t recognize it as just a party song but I was absolutely amazed that someone used a remix of Kids by MGMT which was one of my favorite songs. I immediately started tearing through Google for more of their stuff and I came upon their first mixtape, The Swelly Express.

There was so much unbelievable material from the production to lyrics that I was instantly hooked. If you’d like to have the same appreciation for the quality of work that is almost on top of the Billboard 200 chart right now with their major label debut Breakfast you must first see where they started. Take 41 minutes out of your day and I guarantee after a full listen through the mixtape you’ll be just as enamored. One of the top 5 song on my iTunes of all time is Never; sampling a song that uses on samples? Too good.

Swelly.

Chiddy Bang – The Swelly Express – DOWNLOAD LINK

Chiddy Bang – Never

Written by: @randymcrandell | @thatnewjam

About ThatNewJam

Quintessential Happy Person. Lover of the grind.

Posted on 03/06/2012, in Hip-Hop, Mainstream, Throwback and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

